Feedback And Reviews

Here are a few of the reviews, feedbacks and testimonials we have received over the years.
 

If you would like to share some feedback, please email it to feedback@chrisalsopguitar.co.uk and we will include it on this page.

We greatly appreciate all feedback left for us.

Feedback From: R.R, USA, April 2019

Chris; Just received my G series bridge for my takimine and I must say how impressed I am . Your packaging and instructions and everything was amazing. I installed and all is good. I am now at about 2mm at he 12th fret which as I understand is good. I did find 2 shims under the aluminum track to which I removed one from each of the two part system. I’m thinking I may order another bridge at .50 below in the near future from you…..
I found you on a internet search for takimine parts and even thought your all the way “across the pond” I must say I’m impressed. Thanks so much “cheers"
2 Part Takamine G-Series Bone Saddle. PS011.
 

 

Feedback From: N.S, UK, March 2019

I required zero tapered bridge pins for my LAG acoustic guitar as the bridge holes are non-tapered. This meant using tapered pins the ball end would rise up inside the bridge plate and eventually cause the plate to crack. On searching the internet and reading various forums there's an large number of guitar players out there with the same issue but no one sells or makes zero tapered pins except...Chris. The pins he made are of exceptional quality and fit perfectly. Thank you Chris.
Custom Made Guitar Bridge Pins. PP009.
 

 

Feedback From: Paul. E, Australia, March 2019

Chris assisted me with a complete set of tools required to re-work a sub-standard professional fret job on an electric guitar fitted with stainless steel frets. The tools arrived promptly, were packaged with great care, and included a full set of instructions and hex keys to assist with their intended use. It is obvious that Chris takes great pride in what he does, and each of the multiple tools I purchased are first class in their construction. I would not hesitate to deal with Chris again, and being on the other side of the world poised no issues whatsoever.
Diamond Fretting tools for fret bevelling, levelling and crowning.
 

 

Feedback From: G.N, UK, March 2019

Arrived in a flash. And fitted perfectly at the first go too! Many thanks for the very fine work, as ever.
Custom made bone guitar saddle PS003
 

 

Feedback From: Jim, UK, Jan 2019

Fantastic product, brilliant design, quality, price and service. Very many thanks.
Electric Guitar Action Gauge TA006
 

 

Feedback From: HB, UK, Jan 2019

Hi Chris, Job done and very easy! Just a bit sanding on the width and a polish and in it went....loads of punch and sounds great! Here it is in my guitar which is a Jose Antonio Villalba... I was very lucky to get it as they are hard to come by.... The original saddle made the action far to low for me so I increased the height on the one you made to give 2.8 mm at the 12th fret and Ole! I’ll get around to have new saddles for my other guitars eventually! Best,.
Custom Made Classical Guitar Bone Saddle. PS006
 

 

Feedback From: Ronald, Scotland, Dec 2018

Hi Chris,Just received my order of fret wire etc.,what service! Tools look good too, carefully packed, advice and a few extra frets, lovely touch. I don’t look on eBay often so found your company by chance. Got your information saved now so I’ll buy direct in future. I’m an old ex boat builder who can’t sit and do nothing. I was looking for something to build that would be a bit easier on the old bones so decided to build a guitar. It is proving to be the perfect pursuit as I’ve been playing guitar for awhile now. Although I’ve still got a full workshop the guitar requires so many special jigs and tools I’m making many myself but sometimes when I see tools like yours I’ve got to have them! Your website is great, been listening to you playing, Fingerstyle like me, very nice. Thanks again,
Fret wire PF001, Fret Cutters TF002, Diamond Fret Levelling File TF020
 

 

Feedback From: G.R., Germany, Nov 2018

Yesterday your very nice package arrived sound and safe. Superb work – the nut fits perfectly on a 1978 tama guitar. Spring spacing is now plus 2 mm – great for my fingers. Sound is clearer – great for my ears. The saddle needs a little bit more of sanding that will be done with the next new set of strings.
Thank you very very much for your superb service.
Custom Martin Style Bone Saddle PS015, Custom Made Bone NUt, PN001
 

 

Feedback From: Colin, UK, Nov 2018

I am the very happy user of an original Guitar String action gauge (over 3 years, many set-ups and several builds now) but many of my clients prefer their acoustic guitars to have treble actions set at less than 1.3mm (typically around 1.1-1.2mm). I recently had to say to a very happy client that I couldn't tell him what exactly the action was on the treble side because it was too low for me to measure accurately, and was toying with the idea of requesting Chris to make a custom one for me starting around 0.9mm. I was very happy to find he now offers the Electric Guitar String Action Gauge. Nice one Chris
Electric Guitar Action Gauge TA006
 

 

Feedback From: Tony, UK, Nov 2018

Hi Chris, Ordered the diamond fret crowning file last week. Arrived the next working day (and free postage too!). Quality is exceptional for the price - nice to see some proper engineering!! And the freebie abrasives, cleaner and fret shield make it almost too good to be true. I decided to have a go at levelling and crowning the frets on an old USA strat. Used 600 grit paper, and double-sided tape on a decent aluminium spirit level. Marked the frets with sharpie and it appeared to level the frets perfectly. But I started to get a bit scared trying to crown the frets with a file!! Probably not the best guitar to practice on - so I ordered the proper tool. I can’t believe how easy it made it (i.e. to leave a fine line of sharpie at the crown of the frets). I’ve yet to do the final polishing, etc, but the tool has made the potentially fretboard-ruining bit an absolute breeze. I was wondering whether to have a go at another couple of (quite expensive!) guitars and now have no worries. I don’t usually do reviews but I have been genuinely impressed by your service/products/prices. Many thanks - and I’m sure I’ll be doing more business with you.
Diamond Fret Crowning File System TF088
 

 

Feedback From: Ben W., UK, Jun 2018

Chris made a stepped saddle for me to be able to convert my late fathers old Hagstrom classical from right to left handed. I wanted the option of converting back to right handed if need be and not re-routing the bridge. I gave Chris a drawing and he was able to work out the reverse angles needed and emailed back a detailed accurate drawing of how the new bone saddle would be able to fit into the same saddle route in the bridge, yet be stepped and reversed. Complicated! The new saddle arrived in the post and it pushed into the saddle slot perfectly. The guitar now plays beautifully left handed with perfect intonation up the neck.
I am 110% satisfied, great work thank you!
Custom Made Saddle. Right to left conversion saddle, made to designs on drawings sent PS099
 

 

Feedback From: Stephen W., UK, Feb 2018

I just received the 35 and 90 degree fret bevelling tool. Thank you, it’s absolutely superb. beautifully made, great design and excellent instructions.
I will definitely be buying more of your stuff.
Diamond Dual Angle Fret ENd Bevel File. TF014
 

 

Feedback From: A.E, Jul 2017

Bought a crowning tool on eBay, and just wanted to thank you. It’s excellent. Fits the hand well, cuts in both directions, perfect size for a Fender sized fret.
I’ll know where to come now for anything else I need.Thanks again.
DIamond Fret Crowning File, TF081
 

 

Feedback From: almerasooty, eBay Oct 2015

Hi Chris, Just to let you know the saddle was perfect - just some minimal sanding at the ends and it fits the slot perfectly. The original was a bit too thin for the slot. Good DVD guide and a great package with the various sanding materials. Very efficient and prompt service. You were recommended by members of the Acoustic Soundboard forum and I've added my recommendation there. Acoustic sound is fine - and bone for the saddle is obviously better than plastic. As I anticipated the better fit and having the bottom of the saddle at 90 degrees to the side gives better contact with the piezo and a better balanced string volume - so a benefit to both acoustic and amplified sound. Thank you
Custom Made Bone Guitar Saddle
 

 

Product Feedback From: C. Wilkins, USA Sept 2015

I just used the Fret Crowning Diamond File With Beech Handle for the first time on the frets of my 30 year old Yamaha classical. This tool was a pleasure to use. I experienced zero chatter. The material removal was precise and consistent with each fret. Highly recommended. Very high quality!
I also just used the English Hardwood Guitar Neck Rest with my 30 year old Yamaha classical for the fret and fret board job. This support fixture assisted with allowing me to properly support the neck during use of a fret hammer for seating a few frets, complete fret leveling, fret crowning, fret polishing, as well as fret board cleaning. Also highly recommended and very high quality. In fact, this neck rest is the best I have seen for classical guitar.
During fret leveling, I was able to make good use of the Miniature Spare File. This file is perfect with regards to size and to its grit for addressing high spots on individual frets. It even came with a file cleaner which works surprisingly well.
Last but not least, I was very impressed by the overall presentation when the shipment arrived. Each item was packaged very well, but with the kind of style that reflects pride in one's work. To be specific, I noticed that the bags that the fret guards came in had paper backgrounds that share color with the Chris Alsop website along with their respective printed documentation of helpful suggestions for the use of the tools as well as their maintenance. And finally, it is worth mentioning that the items all came in reusable bags which are useful for tool storage.
I believe it to be rare to find this kind of quality at these prices these days.
I am 100% satisifed.
Thank you!
Charles and Linda Wilkins

Diamond Crowning File, Hardwood Guitar Neck Rest, Miniature Flat Diamond FIle
 

 

Reviews

Thought I would have a bash at DIY repair. Great service and attention to detail- beautifully hand made and built to last, reminds me of old Sheffield tools. Free stuff and instructions very helpful.
Fixed 3 high frets on an old TW8 recrowned the lot, plays like a dream. DD
Fret Crowning Diamond File With Beech Handle. TF080.
 

Hi Chris, Today I received the saddle.I installed it. Now the action is very low. The saddle is almost the same level as the bridge. But the great thing is there is no buzz.and the Tone is amazing. It's more resonant now. What I wanted is the lowest possible action with good tone and your saddle is perfect for my choice. I'm totally satisfied with your product. You are amazing. Won't hesitate to have a business with you again. Cheers from Srilanka. KGVS, Sri Lanka.
Takamine G-Series Bone Saddle. PS009
 

Chris, I fitted the lowered compensated saddle to my Martin D-35 and it is absolutely perfect. The action now is where I want it but the big improvements are in tone and intonation. The guitar sounds better than it has for 20 years or more and it is pretty much in tune right up the neck. Such a small component but what a big difference! ...You are "da man"! Thanks and regards. SB
Bone Saddle for Martin Guitar PS015
 

Just a note of thanks Chris - the saddle is now installed and has made a tremendous difference to intonation and thus to my enjoyment of my guitar. I wish I'd discovered you years ago! You provide an excellent service to those of us who know what we want from our guitar but don't know how to achieve it. JP.
Bone Saddle for Classical Guitar. PS006
 

Chris is so knowledgeable about saddles it made the process so much easier. I had such confidence i had found the right person to make my saddle. I didn't want an off the shelf one that may or may not sort the problem, i wanted it hand made to spec and that is exactly what i got. You don't just get the saddle in a jiffy you get a whole kit of sandpapers etc to do the finer adjustments yourself, with full instructions on what to do you cant go wrong. I have a very expensive Taylor acoustic that had intonation problems and the adjusted saddle has sorted this out but improved the tone so much i was very surprised.
Top Quality, Top Bloke. great value for money. MS.
Bone Guitar Saddle. PS040
 

Ordered this nut as part of a renovation of my 72' Telecaster. It was perfect, extremely happy with it and Will order from again. Through out the process I received pictures and graphs and was talked through the creation. Chris is an expert. GW.
Bone Custom Guitar Nut. PN001
 

I have been delighted with the work that Chris has done for me. He has made bespoke bone nuts and saddles for several of my acoustic guitars and the improvement in tone and sustain is noticeable. He is reliable, his work is precise and he charges a fair price - highly recommended. DR.
Bone Custom Guitar Saddle And Nut. PS004 & PN001
 

Chris is so knowledgeable about saddles it made the process so much easier. I had such confidence i had found the right person to make my saddle. I didn't want an off the shelf one that may or may not sort the problem, i wanted it hand made to spec and that is exactly what i got. You don't just get the saddle in a jiffy you get a whole kit of sandpapers etc to do the finer adjustments yourself, with full instructions on what to do you cant go wrong. I have a very expensive Taylor acoustic that had intonation problems and the adjusted saddle has sorted this out but improved the tone so much i was very surprised.
Top Quality, Top Bloke. great value for money. MS. 
Bone Guitar Saddle. PS023
 

Just wanted to let you know I received the saddles yesterday and installed the over hanging saddle. Sounds fantastic...amazing sustain and tone. Thanks for all your help. S, Germany.
Extra Compensating Saddle and Diagonal Compensation Saddle. PS010 & PS001
 

Workmanship is superb, Chris pays attention to detail. I found him indirectly through ebay, and returned directly due to his great work. He has helped me get my old 1970 Silvertone guitar playing, and great tone for my Fender acoustic bass and the knock-off tone was improved greatly! Turnaround time is quick,
Thx from the USA and holding onto what it once was. The Sweep. BW, USA.
Custom Guitar Saddles.
 

 

Review By: ZP, Jersey (Published on Google )

I had experienced problems with my Yamaha APX-7 electro-acoustic for some time after changing the bridge pickup. The action was all over the place. I found Chris' site on eBay and was advised installing a bone saddle, properly-designed, would make a big difference. Chris was extremely helpful in getting me sorted. I'm based in Jersey so sending the guitar away isn't an option. The guitar sounds better than ever. I would recommend Chris to anyone serious about their acoustic.
Custom Made Bone Guitar Saddle